Site-Wide Activity Forums Tea Conversations Did i buy good tea?

4 replies, 3 voices Last updated by Xavier 12 years, 2 months ago
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Max
      @

I came back from a trip to Sri Lanka today. I got the impression that i bought good tea
      but when i google the brands i purchased i found out nothing. Im a complete newbie
      when it comes to tea. Please help a future (i hope ) tea entusiast out!

Special Selcted Seven Hills High Grown Tea B.O.P
      Mackwoods Broken Orange Fannings

Are any of these teas any good?

peter
      Keymaster
      @peter

First of all, welcome to Tea Trade Max!

The brands there are likely the names of the estates that the teas come from. The other parts of the tea names are grades of tea. BOP is Broken Orange Pekoe and Broken Orange Fannings is also known as BOF.

In the grading scale, these are on the lower end. However, it is important to know that the grading scale actually has little to do with quality (though it can be taken as an indicator) – it only has to do with leaf size of the dry leaf.

When tea is sorted, they put it into a stack of sieves, the largest leaves stay at the top and the smallest pieces fall to the bottom. Fannings (also called dust) is the same stuff you find in common tea bags. BOP is a step up the scale, but the leaf pieces tend to be small.

Fannings are going to brew very fast, I’ve had fannings in the house and needed to brew them in paper tea filters because they are so fine and rarely brew them for more than a minute or so. Also, while many teas can be brewed more than once, these teas are only going to withstand one steeping, YMMV.

There are plenty of folks who might have some more to say on this and I invite @lochantea @liberteas and @sirwilliamoftheleaf to chime in about this. They’ve plenty more knowledge than I will ever have about understanding what you’ve purchased.

Jackie
      Keymaster
      @jackie