Site-Wide Activity Forums Tea Conversations Blue Oceans and tea or, How to succeed in the tea industry

8 replies, 4 voices Last updated by Xavier 12 years, 3 months ago
Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

peter
      Keymaster
      @peter

Am reading the book Blue Ocean Strategy for my Global Business Strategy class and I have to admit that I get pretty excited when I think about applying this concept to the tea industry. In essence, Blue Ocean talks about creating a market space to operate outside and away from the competition so that your efforts are not competing with the existing marketplace.

I’m just getting started on writing an assignment doing a general application of the strategy to the tea industry. I’ll be posting my analysis on a blog or maybe in this thread when I am done with it, but the most fascinating part of learning about it is that it is validating many of the assumptions I’ve made about the tea industry over the last 2 years and where the greatest opportunities and profits can be found (the grocery store is one of my biggest hitting points on this).
      I see parts of the tea industry that are very competitive and others that are not, I also see companies that are competing with each other in very competitive ways. There are established companies that have made entrances into new markets that are competing with other companies in that market. I estimate that most of the market movement we have seen in the tea industry in the past 2-3 years has been in what has been called the competitive, and bloody, red ocean environment. Mind you, because of the growth of the tea market, there is a lot of space in that competitive market so there is plenty of room for new entrants into that market.
      But what if someone were to create a true blue ocean market space for tea and jump into it feet first. That idea is what has been called the Starbucks of Tea. However, no one has found it yet…